UBC pharmacy graduates win Apotex Inc. Future British Columbia Leader Award

Media Release: May 26, 2014

Source http://www.bcpharmacy.ca

Recent graduates of the University of British Columbia’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Dawei Ji and Aaron Sihota are the recipients of the 2014 Apotex Inc. Future British Columbia Leader Award, presented by the BC Pharmacy Association (BCPhA).

Endowed by Apotex Inc., this award assists with the expenses for undergraduate students to attend the annual BCPhA conference. Consideration is given to students with good academic standing who demonstrate leadership skills, involvement in student affairs, and commitment to community service. The award is made on the recommendation of UBC’s Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences.
Both Dawei and Aaron have shown remarkable engagement in the Faculty.  As a first-year pharmacy student, Dawei designed and coordinated a Faculty-approved elective course on the business of biotechnology and pharmaceuticals.
He was actively involved in organizing events such as Pharmacy Awareness Week at UBC, and served on the Pharmacy Undergraduate Society (PhUS) Council as General Councillor during his third year.

In his final year, Dawei completed an in-depth research project on "specialized pharmacy services" that explored how innovative clinical services could be effectively implemented within community pharmacy practice.

During his four years as a pharmacy student, Aaron served on the PhUS Council in various roles including a one-year term as President, and for two terms representing the Faculty on the university's academic governing body, the UBC Senate. He served as an effective student representative on the Faculty's Entry to Practice PharmD taskforce, as well as the President's Advisory committee for selection of a new Dean for Pharmacy.

Aaron was recently invited to present at the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH) Symposium on a marketing and communications project he completed with the UBC Pharmacists Clinic that explored patient perceptions of the services provided by the Clinic and which groups of patients would best utilize these services.

Like Dawei, Aaron has been a BCPhA Student Ambassador, providing a channel of communications between the students on campus and the Association.

The BCPhA Pharmacy Awards recognize pharmacists and others who have played an essential part in the profession. The awards were presented at the BCPhA Annual Conference in Whistler on May 23, 2014.
The British Columbia Pharmacy Association is a not-for-profit, voluntary, professional association of pharmacists and pharmacies. It represents more than 2,800 pharmacists and more than 800 pharmacies throughout BC.

- 30 -


Elise Riedlinger, Communications Manager
BC Pharmacy Association

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2405 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z3
Tel (Dean’s Office): 604.822.2343

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia