Larry Leung and Jason Min receive 2014 B.C. Community Achievement Award

Media Release: March 20, 2014


VANCOUVER – Premier Christy Clark and Keith Mitchell, chair of the British Columbia Achievement Foundation, today named this year’s recipients of the B.C. Community Achievement Awards.

"As British Columbians, we are inspired by those in our communities who make a difference by their efforts," said Clark. "Thank you to the 2014 recipients for their contributions; you make our Province stronger with your commitment and generosity."

"We recognize individuals today who have made a significant contribution either as volunteers or in the course of their work," said Mitchell. We’re honoured to celebrate the contributions of these exceptional British Columbians."

The recipients of the 2014 awards are:
Selen Alpay of Prince George
Cathy Ashurst of Burns Lake
Amrik Singh Aulakh of Surrey
Donald Brown of Victoria
Helen Clifton of Hartley Bay
Lynnette Cobb of Williams Lake
John D'Eathe of West Vancouver
Allan De Genova of Vancouver
Judy Dix of Prince George
Wayne Duzita of Richmond
Michael Feller of Richmond
Keith Gibson of Tofino
Daphne Goode of Victoria
Lawrence Haiducu of Surrey
Deanna Hamilton of Kelowna
Jill Hayward of Louis Creek
Carol Hunt of North Cowichan
Valerie Ingram of Southbank
Bonnie Leadbeater of Victoria
Bessie Lee of Vancouver
Morgan Leung of Delta
Larry Leung of Burnaby and Jason Min of Delta
Donald Lindsay of Vancouver
Gordon Marks of Anmore
Michael McCoy of Richmond
John McLernon of Vancouver
Donald Pettit of Dawson Creek
Ethel Smith of Loon Lake
Marilin States of Creston
Fred Titcomb of West Vancouver
Germain Vigneault of Port Clements
Pat Wahlstrom of Quesnel
Miriam Yu of Vancouver

An independent advisory council selects the recipients of the British Columbia Community Achievement Awards from nominations received in the Fall, 2013. The council members are Mayor Stephanie Killam of the District of Mackenzie, Mayor Mary Sjostrom of the City of Quesnel, and past recipients, Maggie Ip of Vancouver, Alan Markwart of Victoria and Don Shumka of Vancouver.

The recipients of the 2014 British Columbia Community Achievement Awards will be recognized in a formal presentation at Government House in Victoria on April 29, 2014. Each will receive a certificate and a medallion designed by B.C. artist Robert Davidson.

The British Columbia Achievement Foundation is an independent foundation established and endowed by the province of B.C. to celebrate excellence in the arts, humanities, enterprise and community service. Launched in 2003, the BC Community Achievement Awards were the first initiative of the foundation, followed by the Carter Wosk B.C. Creative Achievement Award for Applied Art and Design, B.C.’s National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the B.C. Creative Achievement Award for First Nations’ Art, and the B.C. Aboriginal Business Awards.

For background about the recipients, please visit

- 30 -

Nora Newlands
Executive Director
BC Achievement Foundation

Learn more about the BC Achievement Foundation at:

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2405 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z3
Tel (Dean’s Office): 604.822.2343

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia